Time for a new career?

February 20, 2009 at 10:25 am 5 comments

Well IF I am one of the ones let go. (Still have no news on this and probably won’t for another 30 days). Is it time to change careers?

I first became interested in IT after I bought my first computer. In 1986 one of my neighbors bought a Commodore 64. Once I saw it I had to have one. So I worked my paper router and save up the $100 and bought one.

After High School, thanks to my uncle, I got a job in IT. I then decided to go to college for IT. The only other thing I recall wanted to do was back in 6th grade for some reason I thought I wanted to be a psychologist. As a side note around my senior year of high school or shortly there after I had an opportunity to take the test for the FDNY. One of the guys at my firehouse worked there and was recruiting people to take the test.

So back to the point of the story. In April 2006 I was not retained when Comcast bought out Susquehanna Communications. at the time I was upset, mad, frustrated but it worked out. I got 10 weeks pay as severance and had a job offer after being unemployed for 2 weeks. Took vacation and after 7 weeks of unemployment got the job I have now.

I originally was not thrilled with the job I got (IT Compliance Supervisor) but through hard work and luck it turned into exactly what I wanted on July 28, 2008. IT Manager in charge of all the network people and hardware.

Now with the prospect of being unemployed again I am wondering if it is time for a change. A few possibilities came up.

Police Officer – I have a few friends who do this. No offense to them but it seems fairly easy to acquire these jobs vs. paid firefighter jobs. The starting pay is not great but you get to carry a guys and drive a car with lights and a siren. But I am not sure that my heart would be in it.

Teacher (High School or Grade School)- I do enjoy teaching part time college classes at night. There is always a need for teachers. I have been thinking that being a high school math or IT teacher and teaching college classes at night would be a good secure job. I may need to investigate this further to see with my B.S. and M.B.A. degrees just how much work could it be to get a teaching certificate?

Teacher (College) – The biggest drawback to this is the who PHd thesis more school thing. But another possibility to look into.

Handyman, building, something outside – I love doing this type of work and am pretty good at it thanks to everything my dad taught me. But this is certainly NOT a recession proof job.

Well time to wrap this up. I see that we are almost to 500 words.

Anyone have any thoughts?

Please leave a comment.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

A Real Kick in the Gut Happy Birthday Abi!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachel harvey  |  February 20, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    I need my steps redone..so I vote for handyman 🙂 Or what about the FBI?
    Seriously, submit your resume to Arcus. You have worked hard to get were you are, so don’t let a few little bumps in the road stop you. They fill contract perm. and temp positions, but I would assume the higher level positions are harder to fill… so maybe they will find you something. just check it out… http://www.arcus.com

    Reply
  • 2. Jeff  |  February 21, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    No offense taken at the cop thing. How about paid firefighter gigs?

    Reply
  • 3. John  |  February 24, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Gigolo?

    Reply
  • 4. Steve Strouse  |  April 15, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    I have a tremendous idea, Professional Polar Bear Hunter

    Reply
  • 5. Steve Strouse  |  April 15, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Professional Polar Bear wrestler

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


