From the Way Back Machine

December 28, 2007 at 10:39 am 1 comment

As many of you know I have been an active firefighter now for 18 years. I started at the Delaware Park Chemical Engine Company #1 in 1989 when I was just 17 years old. When I was in college in 1992 I joined the Grantley Fire Company. I have served many rolls at this company but since moving to my new home I am outside of the first due area and a little further from the action. Along with this a few individuals have decided that they can do a better job than me in my current position as Fire Chief. So as of Tuesday 1/1/2008 I will no longer be an officer in the Grantley Fire Comany.

I have been reflecting back on my career at the fire company and recently scanned a few photos into the computer from the early days. I will post some of them here.

The first photo is the “Tuesday Night Super (or Supper) Crew”. The three of us ran every Tuesday night from 6PM – 6AM Wednesday. Brian was the Ambulance Captain at the time. Jeff served as out chauffer and go for guy. I was the Assistant Ambulance Captain. This photo is from sometime between 1998 and 2000. We started out as the Super Crew in an effort to try to make other duty crews want to become Super Crews as well. We worked together very well we knew what each of us was to do on each call and were able to anticipate what the other person needed.

After some flak from the masses we changed it to the Supper Crew since we always ate together either take out or cooking on Tuesday nights.

tuesday-super-crew.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Strousenet.com Changes Wanna Buy a Bridge?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. John  |  December 31, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    Wonder twin powers, activate! Form of eyebrows! Shape of webbed toes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


