Comcastic

July 25, 2007 at 3:47 pm Leave a comment

Everything is once again Comcastic in my world. Here is the painful timeline.

After everything I went through on July 8th and 9th documented here.

July 14th (Move Day) Around 3PM – Comcast is scheduled to show up between 12:30 and 3:30. The guy came while I was in transit from the other house and told my wife that our phone number was not ready to be ported so he was not installing anything today or we would get charged twice. The guy left.

July 14th 5PM – I call 1-800-COMCAST to find out the story. They say they can give me a temporary number until mine is ready to be ported. Sounds great to me Vonage does it all the time without any problems. They tell me someone will call me tomorrow morning and let me know when the guy will be there.

July 14th Evening – Exhausted. Watch some of my DVR’d shows.

July 15th – Never receive a call so I call 1-800-COMCAST again. I am told somone will be there.

July 15th 6PM – After giving up all hope of having someone show up a guy rolls into the driveway. He works for a while and gets the video working. Can’t install the voice. Internet is not working but I am OK for now. This was the on call tech who was told by his supervisor to come out and get me working.

July 16th – Still no Internet. I call in to 1-800-COMCAST to find out that I can;t get Internet while I have an order in for phone service. I start to get upset and tell the gentlemen on the phone that I know all they need to do is provision my modem using the cable MAC address and my internet will work. I get a credit for the inconvenience.

July 17 – 20 – Several calls to 1-800-COMCAST to make sure that my number is being ported and thrid party verification etc. (Thank goodness I can get WIFI in my neighborhood for Abi to do schoolwork.)

July 24th 1:30 – Scheduled appointment for install of CDV and Internet. Phone works. Same phone number. After a little work the internet works. Life is getting back to normal.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Backup Online Top Ten Things I Will Miss About the Old Neighborhood

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


