Running for Office

May 8, 2007 at 7:42 pm 2 comments

I thought I blogged about this before but I could not find it anywhere. So here goes. Does anyone else think it is rediculous that as of April 2007, 19 months before the presidential election not only are people seriously campaigning for office, but they are having debates and raising millions of dollars.

I had an idea the other day. I think that anyone who wants to run for President or Congress should win because the people like their ideas and viewpoints and not becuase they raise $100 billion. So let’s make the $3 Preisdential donation mandatory on everyone’s taxes every year, divide that money up between the first 10 people to declare their candidacy for president and not allow them to raise anymore money.

As of today there are around 301 Million people in the United States. Let’s assume for arguments sake that 1/3 are of tax paying age. So that’s 100 Million people contributing $3 per year or $300 million dollars divided by 10 candidates for president or $30 million per person. More than enough for a few targeted ads or some posters.

I really think this would force them to win on their merits and not because they spent the most money.

Just my 2 cents.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

On my way back from Lunch A Few Interesting Articles

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve  |  May 10, 2007 at 11:55 am

    AMEN Brother

    Reply
  • 2. richb  |  May 15, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    I am 100% with you…

    However, as much as I agree with you, I don’t see how you can get around the one big problem…

    According to the 1st amendment, I (and every other US citizen) has the right to speak their mind, to say what they want.

    With this right, there is nothing stopping a private citizen like me from renting a billboard, and promoting my canidate of choice. I could also, take out an ad against another canidate, provided I did not commit libel against this canidate.

    If you extrapolate this, there’s nothing stopping a group of citizens from doing the same thing on a much bigger scale.

    I would LOVE for campaigns to be level and fair. Each canidate can spend X dollars on their campaign, and that’s it… no outside help, no addition monies from any other source.

    The reality is, that this is not going to happen, and it sucks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


